Awards in corrosion

Awards offered by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining

Guy Bengough Award

Awarded for a paper published by the Institute which makes an outstanding contribution to the subject of corrosion and degradation of all types of materials and their control.

Awards offered by the European Federation of Corrosion*

European Corrosion Medal

The European Corrosion medal, the federation's most prestigious award consisting of a bronze medal, a diploma and the sum of €1000. It is awarded for achievements by a scientist, or group of scientists, in the application of corrosion science in the widest sense.


Cavallaro Medal

The Cavallaro award is the oldest European Federation of Corrosion award and consists of a gold medal presented to a scientist who is particularly distinguished by his/her activity and publications in the field of corrosion.


Kurt Schwabe Prize

The Kurt Schwabe award consists of a medal and €300, and is awarded every three years to a young scientist in recognition of his/her scientific and technical contribution to the field of corrosion on the basis of publications.


Dieter Behrens Corrosion Medal

The Dieter Behrens Corrosion Medal for sustained and outstanding service to the EFC.


* IOM3 is a member of EFC, which is a federation of over 30 societies with interests in corrosion


Awards offered by the Corrosion Science Division of the Institute of Corrosion


U.R. Evans Award

The U R Evans Award is made annually for an outstanding contribution in corrosion science. It is the most prestigious award of Corrosion Science Division and is given in honour of Ulick Richardson Evans FRS (1889-1980), described in the Biographical Memoirs of Fellows of the Royal Society as the "Father of the modern science of corrosion and protection of metals". His major contribution to the subject involved placing on a firm foundation the electrochemical nature of corrosion. His first paper in this area was published in 1923, which was followed in 1924 by his book "Corrosion of Metals", the first text book devoted to the subject. He continued to publish research papers for the next 50 years, as well as updating his classic text.


T.P. Hoar Prize

This is given annually to an outstanding paper published in the journal Corrosion Science for which the division has overall responsibility.