2015 BDA Brick Award winners

Clay Technology magazine
16 Feb 2016

A selection of standout winners from the 2015 BDA Brick Awards

Best Refurbishment Project

Project: House of Trace

Location: Forest Hill, London

Architect: Tsuruta Architects 

Specialist brickwork contractor: Boguslaw Zarzyczny

Brick: Wienerberger – Sheerwater Silver Yellow Stock

The judges said: ‘An interestingly sensitive approach to the refurbishment of an end of terrace house, reinventing the type through approach to the new and retained material.’

Best International and Worldwide Project

Project: Turnmill

Location: Clerkenwell, London

Architect: Piercy and Company

Specialist brickwork contractor: Swift Brickwork Contractors

Brick: Peterson Tegl – Kolumba Bricks F56, F58 and F59

The judges said: ‘A testament to the successful and fruitful relationship between designer and developer.’

Specialist Brickwork Contractor – Swift Brickwork Contractors Ltd

Project: Urbanest

Location: St Pancras, London

Architect: Allford Hall Monaghan Morris Architects

Brick: Ibstock Brick Ltd – Kingscote Grey

Other projects: Turnmill, Imperial College London

The judges said: ‘The Specialist brickwork contractor is judged on the entire company activities including health and safety, craftsmanship and most importantly training for the next generation.’

BDA Chairman’s Award 

Project: Eight Artillery Row

Location: Westminster, London

Architect: Make Architects 

Specialist brickwork contractor: 8 Build

Brick: Michelmersh Brick Holdings – Charnwood Special Blend

The judges said: ‘With inaccuracies in the basic frame of the building, the brickwork had to be meticulous, and the new brick façade makes a really positive contribution to the street scene.’

Best Housing Design

Project: Darbishire Place

Location: Whitechapel, London

Architect: Niall McLaughlin Architects 

Specialist brickwork contractor: Sandwood Design and Build

Brick: Wienerberger – Marzaile

The judges said: ‘This social housing block offers a reinterpretation of classic masonry.’

For the full list of winners, visit bit.ly/20wYvaS