

Report to the 2025 Annual General Meeting Appointment and Election of Honorary Officers and Members of the Executive Board and the Advisory Council

1. General

The current membership of Executive Board (the trustees of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining), the Advisory Council, and the Audit, Awards, Nominations and Remuneration Committees are available at https://www.iom3.org/about-us/governance.html. Elections and appointments are normally also announced through the year.

2. Executive Board

This section lists the changes that have occurred to the Honorary Officers and members of the Executive Board of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining since the 2024 AGM.

- Mr James Hannigan CEng FIMMM was co-opted (September 2024);
- Dr Colleen Mann FIMMM was elected as IOM3 Vice President (January 2025)

3. Advisory Council

This section lists the changes that have occurred to the membership of the IOM3 Advisory Council since the 2024 AGM, apart from those flowing from Section 2.

Elected grade representatives:

No changes

Regional Representatives:

Mr P Saxby stood down as representing South-West & Wales region (June 2025)

The following Technical Community Chairs sitting on the Advisory Council were appointed:

- Dr Jitendra Patel CEng FIMMM, IOM3 Iron & Steel Group (August 2024);
- Dr Sally Beken FIMMM, IOM3 Polymer Group (September 2024);
- Mr Anthony Palmer CEng FIMMM, IOM3 Energy Transition Group (September 2024);
- Eur Geol Robert Bowell FIMMM QMR, IOM3 Applied Earth Science Group (September 2024);
- Prof Kathleen Tanner OBE FREng FRS FIMMM, IOM3 Biomedical Applications Group (May 2025).

The following Technical Community Chairs sitting on the Advisory Council stood down as the above were appointed:

• Dr Laura Baker CEng FIMMM (IOM3 Iron & Steel Group);

AGM Appointments Report 2025

- Dr David Hughes CEng MIMMM (IOM3 Polymer Group);
- Dr Richard Oblath FIMMM (IOM3 Energy Transition Group);
- Dr Mike Armitage CEng MIMMM QMR (IOM3 Applied Earth Science Group);
- Prof Paul Hatton FIMMM (IOM3 Biomedical Applications Group).

In addition, the following will have stepped down by the time of the AGM, but at the time of writing, recruitment for a successor is underway:

• Prof Judith Driscoll FREng FRS CEng FIMMM (IOM3 Energy Materials Group).

The following Member Network Chairs were added to the Advisory Council membership:

• Mr Avery Cunningham AIMMM, IOM3Pride (January 2025).

4. Audit Committee

This section lists the changes that have occurred in the membership of the IOM3 Audit Committee since the 2024 AGM, apart from those flowing from Sections 2 and 3.

- Mrs Joanne Copping CSci CChem MRSC PCQI was appointed (October 2024);
- Mr Shing Sze CEng FIMMM was appointed (May 2025);
- Mr Balemale Bhat stepped down from the Audit Committee (October 2024).