

Report to the 2022 Annual General Meeting Appointment and Election of Honorary Officers and Members of the Executive Board and the Advisory Council

1. General

The current membership of Executive Board (the trustees of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining), the Advisory Council, and the Audit, Awards, Nominations and Remuneration Committees are available at https://www.iom3.org/about-us/governance.html. Elections and appointments are normally also announced through the year.

2. Executive Board

This section lists the changes that have occurred to the Honorary Officers and members of the Executive Board of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining since the 2021 AGM.

- Dr P J E Bischler stepped down as Chair of Members' Board (December 2021)
- Mr M A Jones stepped down as Chair of Student and Early Career Committee and was elected Chair of Members' Board (February 2022)
- Dr A L Goodall was elected Chair of Student and Early Career Committee (February 2022)
- Mr M C Cox was elected Chair of International Affairs Board (February 2022)
- Dr M Carano was co-opted onto Executive Board for one year renewable term (February 2022)
- Prof M R Jolly stepped down as Advisory Council representative (March 2022)
- Ms J Allan was elected Advisory Council representative (April 2022)

3. Advisory Council

This section lists the changes that have occurred to the membership of the IOM3 Advisory Council since the 2021 AGM, apart from those flowing from Section 2.

AGM Appointments Report 2022

Elected grade representatives:

- Diana Anderson stood down as Professional Member representative (December 2021)
- Jason Webb was elected by Professional members (February 2022)
- Toby Reid stood down as Student representative (December 2021)
- Sam Burdett was elected by Student members (February 2022)
- Mike Scott was elected by Affiliate members (February 2021)

Regional Representatives:

- Ben Xu stood down as North East Regional representative (December 2021)
- Patrick Foster stood down as South East regional representative (December 2021)
- Darron Dixon Hardy was elected by North East members (January 2022)
- Peter Saxby was elected by South East members (January 2022)

The following Technical Community Chairs sitting on the Advisory Council were appointed:

- Mr Colin Comberbach CEng CEnv MIMMM, IOM3 Mining Technology Group (April 2022)
- Prof James Busfield FREng CEng FIMMM, IOM3 Elastomer Group (April 2022)
- Prof Judith Driscoll FREng CEng FIMMM, IOM3 Energy Materials Group (July 2022)
- Prof Ben Xu CEng FIMMM, IOM3 Materials Characterisation & Properties Group (April 2022)
- Professor Mark Jolly CEng CEnv FIMMM, IOM3 Materials Processing & Manufacturing Group (July 2022)

The following Technical Community Chairs sitting on the Advisory Council stood down as the above were appointed:

- Mrs Christine Blackmore CEnv CSci FIMMM (IOM3 Mining Technology Group)¹
- Prof Stuart Irvine FIMMM, (IOM3 Energy Materials Group)

The following Member Network Chairs were added to the Advisory Council membership:

- Martin Griffin, Ably Different in Materials, Minerals & Mining (ADM3)
- Ajay Kapadia, Ethnic Minorities in Materials, Minerals & Mining (EMM3)
- Emily Radley, IOM3Pride
- Aimee Goodall, Student & Early Career Committee (SECC) Group
- Margaret Wegrzyn, Women in Materials, Minerals & Mining (WIM3)

¹ Mrs Blackmore returned to the Advisory Council when she was elected Vice-President

AGM Appointments Report 2022

4. Audit Committee

This section lists the changes that have occurred in the membership of the IOM3 Audit Committee since the 2021 AGM, apart from those flowing from Sections 2 and 3.

- Mr P J K Haslehurst stepped down as Chair of Audit Committee (October 2021)
- Dr R F Ambury was elected Chair of Audit Committee (May 2022)