

Report to the 2021 Annual General Meeting Appointment and Election of Honorary Officers and Members of the Executive Board and the Advisory Council

1. General

The current membership of Executive Board (the trustees of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining), the Advisory Council, and the Audit, Awards, Nominations and Remuneration Committees are available at https://www.iom3.org/about-us/governance.html. Elections and appointments are normally also announced through the year.

2. Executive Board

This section lists the changes that have occurred to the Honorary Officers and members of the Executive Board of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining since the 2020 AGM.

As part of the normal succession of the Presidential team:

- Mr M C Cox CEng FIMMM stood down as Chair of the Executive Board and a Trustee (December 2020)
- Prof S M Best CBE FREng CEng FIMMM stood down as President (December 2020) and became Chair of the Executive Board (January 2021)
- Mr N E Glover CEng FIMMM became President (January 2021)
- Dr K Thornton CEng CSci FIMMM became Senior Vice-President (January 2021)

In addition:

- Ms C A Blackmore CEnv CSci FIMMM was elected Vice-President and a Trustee (November 2020)
- Mr R G Siddall FREng CEng FIMMM was co-opted onto Executive Board for a second oneyear renewable term (November 2020)
- Dr M J May FREng FIMMM stepped down as Honorary Treasurer (December 2020)
- Mr V Mawkin MIMMM was appointed as Honorary Treasurer (January 2021)
- Dr M R Clinch FIMMM was elected Vice-President (April 2021)

3. Advisory Council

This section lists the changes that have occurred to the membership of the IOM3 Advisory Council since the 2020 AGM, apart from those flowing from Section 2.

Elected grade representatives:

• Enrica Saraullo resigned as Student representative (September 2020)

AGM Appointments Report 2021

- Hannah Hilton-Tapp was elected by Student members (February 2021)
- Mike Scott was elected by Affiliate members (February 2021)

The following Technical Community Chairs sitting¹ on the Advisory Council were appointed:

- Dr David Hughes CEng MIMMM, Polymer Society (October 2020)
- Dr Cheryll Pitt OBE CEng FIMMM, Light Metals Division (January 2021)
- EUR ING Prof Paul Hogg CEng CSci FIMMM, British Composites Society (April 2021)
- Dr Emma Wilcox FIMMM, Sustainable Development Group (June 2021)

The following Technical Community Chairs sitting on the Advisory Council stood down as the above were appointed:

- Mr Stuart Patrick FIMMM (Polymer Society)
- Dr Mike Clinch FIMMM (Light Metals Division)²
- Dr Dan Kells CEng FIMMM (British Composites Society)
- Mr Louis Brimacombe FIMMM (Sustainable Development Group)

¹ Dr Ambrose Taylor FIMMM was also appointed as the new Chair of the Society for Adhesion and Adhesives in March 2021, taking over from Mr Stephen Millington GradIMMM, but this is not currently one of the Technical Communities directly represented on Advisory Council

² Dr Clinch returned to the Advisory Council when he was elected Vice-President